St. Louis Turkey Trot 8k 11/24/16

On Thanksgiving morning I ran my first 8k, the St. Louis Turkey Trot 8k. This was a new to me race but I have heard of it before due to the fact they give all finishers cinnamon rolls at the end. Cinnamon rolls are one of my favorite things in life and now that I’m done with Whole 30 there was so reason not to do this race. Plus like the Hot Chocolate races, everyone got a really nice article of clothing, a snuggly fleece. 

The race was supposed to start at 8:45am and I got there at 8am, which was way too early for 40 degrees. It was in Forest Park and I misjudged how far I’d parked from the Muny parking lot. So I did a lot of standing around until my running friends arrived. 

Sarah, me, Meghan, David. Photo courtesy of Sarah.


The race organizers made some announcements, including that the race course may not match up to what was posted online. So we should just follow people in front of us who look like they know where they’re going. LOL. Also, they didn’t start the race until 9am. Normally I wouldn’t care but I was so cold and also needed to drive two hours to southern Illinois by 1pm, so I’d be cutting it close. 

At 9am the four of us took off. We all were running for fun, which is a really nice way to do it. We could just talk and have fun and not have race stress. I hadn’t run 5 miles in weeks so I was about concerned about stamina, but it ended up being no problem. We stopped for water in the middle, but other than that, just ran. And toward the end I felt strong so David and I broke off from the group (and eventually he broke off from me) and finished fast. 

Meghan and Sarah were just behind us so we collected them and then collected our cinnamon rolls. 

These were giant and great. The only thing that would have made them better is if they were warm, but they’re serving thousands of people in a park so I get the constraints. 

My official results:


My next race is the Hot Chocolate 15k in two weeks. I love how I’m just going to run 9.3 miles in two weeks without following a training plan. LOL. At least there will be chocolate!

4 responses to “St. Louis Turkey Trot 8k 11/24/16

  1. Carol Burkholder

    Good for you, Nora!😍

  2. You are Lookin’ good, and so are those cinnamon rolls!

  3. I read some other reviews of this race that weren’t so positive. Everything from the fleece not looking the same as advertised, to not getting a cinnamon roll at the finish (while others were seen with boxes full) and having to go through a parking lot as other people were leaving…
    It’s nice to know someone had a good time. 🙂
    Next stop CHOCOLATE!

Leave a Reply

