Ferguson Twilight 10k 5/14/16

Last night was the 7th annual Ferguson Twilight Run. They have 1 mile, 5k, and 10k options. Like last year, I opted for the 10k. Unlike last year, the weather was pleasant, actually a little cool for just standing around. 


The 10k didn’t start until 6:15, so Trace and I walked over to watch the 1 mile fun run. The younger kids were at the front of the park. I love watching kids run. Such joy. 



It wasn’t long before the fastest runners were coming back. 


I bike a mile in 5 minutes and I’m happy. This kid ran a mile in 5 minutes–amazing. 

We headed over to the packet pickup area to meet my Big River friends. We were all wearing orange shirts in honor of Kari’s birthday and Meghan brought orange and turquoise ribbon for everyone to wear in their hair. 

Showing off our ribbons; everyone but Ryan and Meghan wore them in back. 🙂


The 5kers left to 5k, and the rest of us hung around until our race began. 

And then we were off!

Meghan and I agreed to just run this race for fun so we paid no attention to pace and instead focused on the beautiful streets of Ferguson. 


There were people cheering in their lawns, and a band set up on the street. 

The elevation of this course is pretty hellish, so I was glad not to be running for time. 

Instead I was just running to have fun and enjoy all the people cheering us on. 

This race has the best crowd support of any race I’ve ever run. We approached this pack of people and they all yelled for us and high fived us. Total strangers!

In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever high fived so many people at one event. Any time I saw a kid with their hand out I was there. I don’t know what they got out of it but all the positivity from kids of various races nearly had me in tears. 

Finally we approached the last stretch to the finish, the only part that was flat for an extended period of time. 


Becky, Meghan and I decided to throw our hands up like we won the race. 


Now that’s how you have fun at a race. 

3 responses to “Ferguson Twilight 10k 5/14/16

  1. It looks like a great time!

  2. Carol Burkholder

    So glad you enjoyed yourselves!😊

  3. This looks like such a fun event. Congrats on such a fun race! And OMG – that kid ran a 5 min mile. YAS!! So awesome!! And also – that elevation. Whattttt!

Leave a Reply

