Long Run – South City

Today’s long run was in my neck of the woods–Big River Running’s south city store. It’s a good thing it’s only a couple of miles from our house because per usual, I underestimated how long it would take me to get dressed for 40 degree weather. 

I did end up making it on time, even with another delay to circle the neighborhood for parking. Most of the 10:45 group was doing 10 or 12 miles. My goal was 10, so the plan was to do the BRR Monday night run 7 mile route and add on after we got back to the store. 

The 7 mile route took us to the River Des Peres Greenway, a staple of my warm weather running and biking.  It was nice to be back.

 It’s such a nice paved path but it can be mentally difficult because it’s so long and you can easily psych yourself out by looking at how far there is to go. Fortunately we had a really big group this week so I just blended in the pack and didn’t look ahead.

Soon we were winding back through the neighborhoods of south city and back to the store.  

 
I run through these neighborhoods all the time with no issues but with a group it’s trickier. You have to be more careful with your footing due to gum balls and uneven sidewalks. We had one person fall but she was fine.

Back to the store at the end of 7 miles.  Pacer Meghan is on the left in the red capris yelling “for the record guys I’m doing 10:45 miles back here!” This is why I need to stay behind the pacer. 

 We took a break at the store for water and a photo op.  

 Then we headed up Macklind to complete the last few miles. We were doing the reverse of the Macklind Mile and the elevation changes were pretty rough. 

 
Even so, we pushed through and completed our 10 miles. And then I did my leg stretches.     They’re definitely helping my foot pain; I don’t think I noticed any pain in the ball of my foot until later when I was walking through Schnuck’s. And I don’t have any now. I feel good about my ability to continue training!

3 responses to “Long Run – South City

  1. Looks like such a nice day for a long run! Congrats!

  2. I hate those gum ball things and it seems like they are EVERYWHERE!

  3. Pingback: Half Marathon Training – Week 5 | The Rockin' Runner

Leave a Reply

