Running Uphill

I’m not a fan of running uphill. I generally choose routes that are mostly flat. In the past when I’ve encountered hills I’ve taken them as an invitation to walk. But I decided I should probably embrace hills and work on getting better at them. So that’s what I did on my run this morning.  

 I went down my normal path to the Greenway but instead of continuing across Loughborough I took a right at the base of the long, windy hill that goes to St. Marcus Cemetery.  

 
It wasn’t so bad. My breathing got heavier and I definitely used the “stare at something in the distance until I get to it then stare at something else” technique, which I don’t normally need to resort to except during long runs. 

After I got up the hill I went back down Gravois and Holly Hills until I reached the path again. 

 

I did this loop four times. 

I figure practicing downhills is just as useful as practicing uphills. I’ve encountered a couple big downhills in races–during last year’s Mo’ Cowbell Half Marathon and 2013’s Go! Halloween 10k–and both were really challenging. 

It doesn’t compute that a hard hill workout would result in faster than normal pacing, but that’s what happened.  

 I was only making an effort to go fast at the end; the rest was just a comfortable pace for me. I’m hoping this means I’m making some gains in running fitness. I’ve felt stagnant for a while. It was significantly cooler this morning but it will be cool for my race on October 11th, so pacing under 10 minute miles should be realistic for that half marathon. 

One response to “Running Uphill

  1. Pingback: Half Marathon Training – Week 10 | The Rockin' Runner

Leave a Reply

