Variety is the Spice of Life

I did a nice job of mixing up my workouts the past week. 

Monday

I planned a short run at whatever pace I felt like. I ran up my street and over to Wilmore park.  

 

Then I ran back on the River Des Peres greenway. The run ended up longish; 5 miles in just over 52 minutes. 

Tuesday

Biking at the gym then stretching.  

 

Wednesday

My Speedwork plan called for 1 mile as fast as I could go. I opted to do it at the gym on the treadmill; thinking that would be easier than risking having to stop for traffic outside.    

  

I’m running in the Macklind Mile so we’ll see how this translates into outside running next Saturday.

Thursday

I swam. This was only the second time I’ve swam since a couple weeks before my LASIK surgery and I’m still trying to get the hang of it. I don’t feel like my breathing is well coordinated with my movement just yet, but I’ll keep trying. I did swim 42 laps in 30 minutes even though I kept pausing at each end to catch my breath. And my body felt great the rest of the day so I know even if I’m just flailing away in the pool it’s still helping me recover. 

Friday

It was rainy but I ran anyway.  

 

And I deliberately sought out hills! 

I keep reading about how hills should be part of a runner’s routine so I decided to give it a shot. I ran a winding loop up the hill to St. Marcus Park and back down Holly Hills to the greenway several times.  

 

I covered just over 3 miles by the time it was done. It was challenging and my quads are feeling it today. I’m not usually sore after running so I guess the hills did what they were supposed to do. 

Today I’m resting and tomorrow I am running the All-American 5k. I ran this two years ago in 25:29, which remains my PR on a course that’s actually 3.1 miles. I don’t think I’m in that kind of shape now. I’ll be happy to break 27 minutes.

Leave a Reply

