Half Marathon Training – Week 6

My half marathon training has been lacking lately. I was recently sick, again, this time with bronchitis. Since the bronchitis affected my lungs more than my previous cold and sinus infection I’ve been extra careful with reintroducing running–slower runs that turned into walks; lots of rest. My long run last week lasted 2.5 miles before my lungs said enough and I walked/ran the remaining 4.5 miles. It kind of feels like I’m starting over as a runner, but I’m just grateful to be able to run without hacking up a lung. At least the conditions are great for running.

Oh wait.

IMG_1980

The windchill made it feel like -1. Neat.

The Runner’s World what to wear guide and I always disagree and what is appropriate for me to wear on cold runs.

IMG_1986

I went with compression socks, regular socks, two pairs of shorts, tights, four shirts, a jacket, a balaclava, a hat, and gloves.

IMG_1985

I figured I’d rather be hot than too cold, especially just after being sick. Standing with my running group before our pace run at Grant’s Trail, I was still cold, as was everyone else.

IMG_1981

IMG_1973

I’m in the middle, working the bank robber look and definitely not running 8:15-8:30 pace.

IMG_1974

We did a one mile warmup run first. Due to the fact we were freezing, everyone went out way too fast. I ended up running my warmup mile in 10:25, faster than I planned for my run. Oops.

I joined the 10:30-10:45 group for the main run, which is the faster end of what I do for long runs. I opted not to do a speedier pace run since running continuously for 3+ miles is challenge enough for me right now.

There were only four of us and people were talking so I decided not to play my music. It actually felt fine. I talked here and there, not wanting to work my lungs too hard, and listened the rest of the time. That plus the scenery was entertainment enough for me.

IMG_1989
The first three miles out felt kind of challenging but honestly the fact it was so cold was great incentive to keep moving. I kind of loved it. And I was thrilled to discover I felt strongest during the last mile, pulling away from Steph and Chris at the very end.

IMG_1975

IMG_1976

IMG_1977

(One of the runners also takes photos of everyone before and after he’s done running, so all the non cell phone photos in this post are from him.)

So happy to be able to run continuously.

IMG_1987

I’m even happier that my lungs still feel great. I’m hoping this run cleared out my lungs even more so I can close the book on sickness and just enjoy running. I feel a lot more like myself after a good sweat.

3 responses to “Half Marathon Training – Week 6

  1. Hope your lungs are feeling loads better 🙂

  2. All I can say is wow, you all are warriors! And, the bank-robber look is good on you. and yes, I hope your lungs are loads better too!

Leave a Reply

