Never Judge Your Ability Based on One Run

Last week I had a couple of slow for me treadmill runs. The effort felt the same or harder than my pace during my last half marathon, which was a minute faster. I wasn’t as hard on myself as I’ve been in the past, but I was wondering what was going on.

Then I was able to run outside on Friday, when I ran during lunch. I ran nearly six miles just under 10 minutes/mile, faster than my half marathon pace. That felt pretty great but I wasn’t sure what would happen when I got back on the treadmill.

Today it was sunny again and 70. (!!!) I decided there was no way I was wasting those conditions, especially when it’s supposed to be in the 30s later this week, so I headed out for another late lunch run.

I ran to the arch.

IMG_4425.JPG
I think that’s the best picture of the arch I’ve ever taken, and I’ve taken a lot.

This one, not so much.

IMG_4426.JPG

Oh, shadows.

It was unbelievable windy today and any run to the arch contains various hilly sections, but I was still able to do this.

IMG_4427.PNG

That’s close to my pre-stress fracture pace! I’ve been eating well all week, so maybe that’s part of the reason. But I did have a bag of M&Ms about an hour before, so I’m guessing I just really love running outside in cool sunny weather. Now I know how I run on a treadmill is not an accurate gauge of what I’m capable of.

3 responses to “Never Judge Your Ability Based on One Run

  1. I agree that is an amazing picture of the Arch! And congrats on your running!

  2. How cool is it that (A) you get to run at lunch and (B) you get to run so close to an historic landmark like the Arch? I’ve been training at such a slow pace that I’m envious of your splits!
    Also, if you’re not running as often this winter, and even if you are, there’s a great book by Philip Maffatone called the Big Book of Endurance Training. I highly recommend it, especially coming off an injury.

    • Running at lunch is a new thing for me but I am loving it. It really frees up my evening. And I do love running to a landmark!
      I’ll put that book on my list, thanks!

Leave a Reply

