Fall in Forest Park

The conditions right now are ideal for running–low 60s and beautiful changing colors on all the trees. It’s getting darker earlier but I was able to get out of work in time for a run in Forest Park yesterday evening. I spent most of it documenting fall in St. Louis. I got the idea from my cousin Rita after reading this post about her trip to the Midwest. She didn’t get a chance to see the changing colors. I think I might take living in the Midwest for granted, so these photos are a reminder of how beautiful it can be.

In front of The Muny, the outdoor theater in Forest Park.

IMG_4346.JPG

IMG_4347.JPG

On the path past the boathouse, toward the art museum.

IMG_4348.JPG

IMG_4349.JPG

IMG_4351.JPG

Looking back toward the boathouse and Spanish pavilion.

IMG_4352.JPG

Part of Post Dispatch lake (I think that’s what it’s called) as I crossed over it via bridge.

IMG_4353.JPG

Another person enjoying the lake.

IMG_4354.JPG

Crossing another bridge toward the art museum and the bottom of art hill.

IMG_4355.JPG

The Grand Basin.

IMG_4356.JPG

Looking up at the art museum.

IMG_4357.JPG

Continuing along the path at the bottom of art hill.

IMG_4358.JPG

Made it to the top of art hill!

IMG_4359.JPG

IMG_4360.JPG

IMG_4362.JPG

I decided to go on the path to the right of this red tree instead of the left, which made for a longer than planned run.

IMG_4363.JPG

And a fairly fresh bird. I guess a bike hit it. Yikes.

IMG_4365.JPG

Baseball fields and Barnes Jewish Hospital in the distance.

IMG_4367.JPG

I headed back north.

IMG_4370.JPG

I love the juxtaposition of buildings (more of the hospital) and nature.

IMG_4371.JPG

Although there were plenty of people around, I became aware of the dwindling daylight and picked up the pace toward the end.

IMG_4372.PNG

I’ve run in Forest Park many times but thanks to all the paths I was still able to come up with a new route, just by going whatever direction I felt like.

IMG_4373.PNG

8 responses to “Fall in Forest Park

  1. Beautiful fall pictures! I’ve never lived in a place that actually changed much over the seasons, so it’s always nice to see 🙂

  2. Gorgeous pictures! Forest Park is always beautiful, but with the colors of fall, it really looks great! Glad you had a good run!

  3. And the dead bird–interesting. (:

  4. Thank you Nora! I love seeing the changing of seasons, even if it’s only via the internet. 🙂

  5. I love living in the midwest and running through the colors of fall. It’s my favorite time of the year to run! Perfect temps most of the time.

  6. Awesome, looks amazing! Well, except for tweety. We still don’t have fall. It’s been in the 90’s. Our leaves aren’t changing. Ugh.

  7. Gorgeous pictures!! I’ve never run in Forest Park, if you can believe that! (I take that back, I did the zoo 5K a few years ago). We live too far away for it to be a “regular” run place for me – which makes me sad! I hope to get down there soon.

Leave a Reply

