Last Long Run Before Racing!

This morning was my last long run before next Sunday’s Mo’ Cowbell half marathon.

I did some serious carbing up yesterday–one pizza and one large hot fudge sundae, check.

IMG_1620.JPG

Due to some scheduling conflicts I only ran one other time this week, on Wednesday. Because of that and the fact I had a subpar long run last week, I really wanted to get in another double digit run. Fortunately 9 of the 10 people in my pace group were doing the 10 mile route.

IMG_1610.JPG

We went down Delmar and Skinker, with a short break by Wash U to wait for the other part of our pace group that got stopped at the light.

IMG_1611.JPG

Then we went down Forsyth and around Shaw park which was exciting for me because I’ve never run there. I was also excited to run on the greenway along highway 170. I’ve seen it before while driving on 170 but have no reason to be on it otherwise, so I was glad our route took us there.

IMG_1612.JPG

We ran on the greenway to Olive and doubled back to Delmar, where we encountered one of the biggest hills I’ve ever run over.

IMG_1621.JPG

I kept chowing down on these to keep my energy level up.

IMG_1614.JPG

It worked–I successfully made it 10 miles with my group, only stopping for traffic.

IMG_1615.PNG

It was a lot more hot and humid than I was expecting so I was ready to hydrate.

IMG_1613.JPG

Speaking of hydration, a while back I read an article about athletes drinking pickle juice. Something like this one. And I’ve heard of the importance of replenishing salt in the body. So…

IMG_1607.JPG

No, I didn’t drink all that today. I could say I’ve consumed it before strictly for health benefits, but the truth is I love pickles and most vinegar based products. But today it was more delicious than ever. And I’m feeling pretty good now; I don’t have a headache like I normally do. So maybe there’s something to it.

6 responses to “Last Long Run Before Racing!

  1. Good luck next weekend in St. Charles!

  2. Good luck next weekend! I’ll be running too! 🙂

  3. Carb loading is my favorite thing leading up to race day. Now that you mentioned the pickle juice, I remember by brothers chugging in after two a day practices in the summer back in high school. Think I’ll give it a try. I love all things vinegar too.
    Good luck next weekend and have a blast!

    • I think my Sunday recovery was the best of this training cycle. My legs felt fresh that night. I’ll have to try it again to be sure but for now I am giving credit to pickle juice. And I’m fully enjoying this week of carb loading. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

