Training Team Run #10 – Double Digit Mileage!

Today’s long run took place at Creve Coeur Park. I was excited because that’s been on my running to do list for a while, but I’d never made it out there before today.

The reason I haven’t made it out there is it’s a bit of a drive for me. I left at 6am to make sure I’d get there before 7. It was dark and cold!

IMG_1567.JPG

IMG_1568.PNG

I arrived around 6:40am. Love the lack of traffic that early. Meghan told us we’d be altering our route to avoid a cancer fundraiser, which was fine since it was all new to me.

IMG_1570.JPG

I was really looking forward to the views of the lake.

IMG_1569.JPG
Hello? Lake?

We lined up in our pace groups and headed out.

IMG_1572.JPG

IMG_1573.JPG

The course was mostly flat, which was nice, and though I was freezing at the start, I eventually warmed up and loved the temperature. Running when it’s in the 40s is so refreshing.

As I said, the course was mostly flat, but approaching 5 miles we had to cross a bridge.

IMG_1574.JPG

IMG_1576.JPG

I love that the guy in front of me was wearing a shirt that said to the summit because that’s what we did.

IMG_1578.PNG

I do love running across bridges, and this one was by far the longest and tallest I’ve run across.

IMG_1577.JPG

IMG_1580.JPG

IMG_1579.JPG

After crossing that bridge we ran until we hit 5 miles and the majority of us turned back. I was still feeling really great. My long sleeve shirt covered my Garmin and I didn’t look at our pace once. I just listened for the beeps signifying another mile down. After 5 miles, going back seemed easy, just thinking about the remaining miles to do. 2 and 3 miles seem like nothing at that point.

My group finished our 10 and I felt stronger than ever–I felt like I could have sprinted the last mile or kept going. I’ve missed that feeling.

IMG_1565.PNG

And the lake made an appearance!

IMG_1581.JPG

IMG_1582.JPG

Here’s our route, although it was hard to see much of anything because of the fog.

IMG_1566.PNG

Time to relax and recover!

4 responses to “Training Team Run #10 – Double Digit Mileage!

  1. Wow, foggy! But it sounds like a really nice run for you! Great!
    The bridge looks so cool.

  2. Way to go! Looks like a great place to run! And with some good peeps.

Leave a Reply

