A Rainy Run

I headed to Forest Park to run tonight. The fact it was overcast made it extra beautiful.

IMG_3938-0.JPG
Some type of bird is standing in the water there.

IMG_3940-0.JPG
I’m not sure what these are but I love the way they grow into a pattern.

IMG_3941-0.JPG

The Spanish Pavilion, always breathtaking.

IMG_3944.JPG

From there I ran past the zoo to Skinker, uphill most of the way.

IMG_3950.PNG

After conquering those hills, I was feeling strong as I rounded Skinker and headed down Lindell. It began to sprinkle a little, which felt refreshing. But then the rain got heavier. It got so heavy I couldn’t see more than about ten feet in front of me. And the rain was getting in my eyes, so part of the time I was running with my eyes closed. It occurred to me that the rain could make my contacts fall out, so I stopped at the History museum and stood under the overhang. There were several bikers waiting it out, and one of them showed me the weather on his phone. It didn’t look like the rain was letting up any time soon, so I made a break for my car. The rain accumulated in the streets, several inches in some places. Needless to say, every part of me was soaked. I was happy I had two towels in my car.

IMG_3945.JPG

I sat there and dried off as best I could while I waited for the rain to ease up.

IMG_3948.JPG

IMG_3949.JPG

Before it got to the point where I couldn’t see, running in the rain was really fun. It reminded me l when I was a kid and would jump in puddles outside. But it’s nice to be dry now!

4 responses to “A Rainy Run

  1. After running in the rain so many times it really doesn’t bother me anymore. I’ve never had to stop although I came close to throwing in the towel a few weeks ago. Pun totally intended.

  2. I have shoes that I only wear when it’s going to rain. I also have this thing that dries your shoes. It’s called a peet dryer and it works pretty well.

  3. I’m glad you had towels in the car! Also, the pictures are beautiful. I agree that rainy weather sometimes makes the greenery and flowers much prettier!

Leave a Reply

