Sunday Pace Run & Finding My Lost Motivation

This morning’s Big River Training Team run was a pace run, a shorter distance meant to be run at the pace we want to run in our races. Generally this is anywhere from 30 seconds to 1:30 faster than the pace we run our long runs. Since I’ve been in the 10:30-11 long run group, I decided to try for a 10 minute pace. I’ve been having some serious motivation problems on my shorter runs–stopping to walk at 2.80, 2, and 0.7 (!!!) miles my past few runs. So a 10 minute pace would be a big enough challenge if I could run the whole time.

We met at Grant’s Trail, off highway 55 and only about a 10 minute drive for me.

IMG_3810.JPG

We ran a slower mile to warm up and then met back at the start to take off with our pace groups. Before we began I heard someone say it was 97% humidity. Neat.

IMG_3809.PNG
I’d been happy to see a temp in the 70s but it’s the humidity that really gets me.

I felt pretty uncomfortable a few times and was able to work through it. It began before 2 miles. I told myself to stay in the mile and that leaving the group was not an option. It passed and I was happy. I was running next to the pace leader and feeling strong. Around 3 miles I thought, “hmm, haven’t done this continuously in a while” and realized I was unbelievably sweaty but again did not entertain thoughts of stopping. I focused on my breathing, which was evening out nicely.

My initial plan was 4 miles, but I was feeling good (such a pleasant surprise) after the 2 mile turn around point, and also at 2.5, so I didn’t turn around until 3 miles, when the rest of my group did.

Around 4 miles I felt pretty exhausted. Last night I got in bed before 10 like a very responsible runner but then I proceeded to refresh twitter until 2am, following what was going on in Ferguson with people breaking the midnight curfew. When my alarm went off at 6am I hit snooze and seriously considered turning it off and giving up. But then I thought of this guy.

IMG_3812.PNG

He’s one of the best follows for information about Ferguson. He’s an alderman who has been tweeting relevant info at all hours of the day–anytime I check my feed, he’s in it. I can’t imagine he’s been getting much sleep.

So I figured if he can do hard things on no sleep, so can I. I repeated these things to myself over and over:

“I can do hard things.”

“I am a machine. I was built to move.”

That worked for another 1.50 miles. After 5.50, I was truly exhausted and told my group I was walking. They ran the last .50.

IMG_3811.JPG

I have no regrets about walking. I haven’t run 5.50 miles straight in three weeks, especially at a slightly faster pace. And walking helps me to avoid soreness. And 6 miles is 6 miles, even if the end is walking!

IMG_3814.PNG

I’m hoping the mental push I made through miles 4-5.50 helps me push through tough parts of runs in the future. My brain needs this training as much as my legs do.

3 responses to “Sunday Pace Run & Finding My Lost Motivation

  1. woo hoo … strong work!

  2. Yes, mental training is more important than physical! Way to go! The heat and humidity has been making it very taxing on my mind during runs. Ouch!

Leave a Reply

