A Successful Six Miles

What a difference a week makes. After last week’s disaster long run I decided to make some changes this week.

  • My breakfast. Last week I ate my normal giant bowl of Cheerios plus added a banana. This week I just ate the banana, which has been my pre long meal for years.
  • Coffee. I don’t think I’ve ever had coffee before a long run. But last week I felt half asleep when the run began so I decided to try coffee today.
  • Slower pace group. Last week I ran with the 10-10:30 pace group; this week I tried the 10:30-11 group.
  • The most helpful change, however, was the temperature.

    20140720-090405-32645136.jpg

    It felt so good I was second guessing my decision to slow my pace, but I decided to force myself to slow down since I’ve already run eight miles this week.

    20140720-090829-32909994.jpg

    They broke us into pace groups and off went. There was a kid in our group of 20-30. I’m terrible at estimating kids’ ages, so he was anywhere from 5-12. Probably 10 or so. I was impressed. I don’t think I ran a mile until I was fourteen and this kid was running 5 today.

    The pace felt great. I was so happy to have the pace group to rein me in since naturally I want to go faster but lately that’s been causing me to burn out.

    There were a few hills that were challenging, including the one in the woods by the zoo, but I reminded myself to swing my arms to move myself up the hill. As I was thinking that, this song came on, and in the beginning he says “c’mon swing it!” Perfect.

    20140720-091527-33327731.jpg

    And it was so nice to be going down the hill on Skinker instead of up, like last week.

    20140720-091227-33147556.jpg

    The plan for today was to do 4-6 miles depending on how my body felt. I felt great and did the whole Forest Park loop plus a little extra to total 6 miles.

    20140720-092625-33985515.jpg

    That’s my longest run since last October! And I’m thrilled to report I felt stronger at the end than I did at the beginning. I think the slower pace group will be good for me.

    4 responses to “A Successful Six Miles

    1. Yay great job on 6 miles!

    2. Nice, looks like a great run! I hope you felt the vibrations! 😉

    Leave a Reply

    