Training for Nothing (Yet)

This morning was the Big River Running Training Team’s first group long run. I participated in the Training Team last Fall and they helped me to a sub 2:00:00 half marathon. I had to skip this past Spring because of the stress fracture. I’m currently only running a couple times a week so I debated if I should sign up this Fall. I’m not signed up for any more races and I’m not sure I even want to take on something as long as a half marathon at this point, which is what the Training Team is for, but since it’s free I decided to just go for it.

So I headed to Forest Park at 6:30 this morning. And it was already 81 degrees.

20140713-190822-68902181.jpg

The Training Team has gotten really big in the last year. We all gathered at 7am to break into pace groups.

20140713-190927-68967770.jpg

Last Fall I was in the 9:30-10 minute mile group; this time I decided to join the 10-10:30 group. There were probably around 20 of us. It was really humid, so even with the slower pace, it was really rough. After about a mile and a half I was feeling a little nauseated, just like my race last week. I decided to walk and drink some Gatorade. That helped, but I was still tired, so after a couple more attempts to just run, I walked again. The trail around the park is about 6 miles and I knew that wasn’t happening, so I decided to head back through a scenic trail.

20140713-191359-69239262.jpg

Then I remembered a feather I’d seen on the paved trail and headed back to pick it up.

20140713-191432-69272815.jpg

And continued past the Art Museum.

20140713-191543-69343720.jpg

Did I mention it was hot?

20140713-191950-69590302.jpg

I did more walking than running but felt good about just getting out and on my feet before 8am.

20140713-191839-69519895.jpg

I’m not sure how I feel about running in this humidity. I hope it gets better, but it’s possible it will just continue to suck. I’ll give it another shot next Sunday.

4 responses to “Training for Nothing (Yet)

  1. This humidity is for the birds. I ran two miles Saturday morning. I was drenched.
    The free training sounds great especially if you’re hesitant to commit to a race or a certain distance. Way less pressure and will probably prevent you from reinjuring yourself. Good call!

    • Yeah I’m finding the fact I have no race I feel I “have” to train for makes this whole process a lot less stressful (thus, the walking with no guilt). I can just work on building my endurance back. And I really love being done so early on Sunday morning. But the humidity….yikes.

  2. Very cool! I love the art museum. I bet they do some good shows out there in the amphitheater.

    • It’s actually a temporary area set up with a stage but them seem to be using it a lot this summer. People sled down the hill in winter. It is a great place to hang out in general.

Leave a Reply

