First Long Run of 2014

Years ago I considered a long run anything greater than three miles. In fact, running more than three miles seemed crazy and impossible. That changed once I started training for half marathons. Long runs became anything greater than six miles. Now that I’ve been injured, long for me is again anything greater than three miles.

On Monday I ran a few miles and Wednesday I ran a couple before PiYo class. I rested Thursday and Friday, leaving me fresh to try to go a little further Saturday. My plan was to slow it down and run as close to ten minute miles as I could, and hopefully have negative splits.

20140511-095917.jpg

As you can see, I’m not great at that. I looked at my watch a few times and saw 9:15-9:30 and slowed up. It’s nice to slow up, especially when it’s hot. I waited until late afternoon to run and tried to stay in the shade but it was still pretty warm. Actually, for that reason I took some of these energy chews with me because I figured I’d be sweating a lot.

20140511-101023.jpg

They’re really good! Much easier to chew than Shot Bloks and though the flavor is mild, I like it. I took a break for a few minutes at the water fountain at Francis Park to rehydrate and enjoy some chews and the view.

20140511-101142.jpg

I love living in an area where I can run to so many parks. The route I chose has a pretty big hill I have to cross on the way there and back, which was confirmed as I reviewed stats from Garmin later.

20140511-101643.jpg

The drops in heart rate are from waiting at traffic lights and the water fountain stop. I find all this information so interesting. Also, this:

20140511-102245.jpg

Yay! My previous Garmin longest run was a combination of running and walking so I’m glad to have a true running PR.

I think biking will be on the agenda for today. It’s another beautiful day here in St. Louis and as long as I’m going to be storing my bike in our dining room, I better use it. 🙂

One response to “First Long Run of 2014

  1. Way to go! Sounds like you had a great run. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

