Return to Running – Complete!

Tonight I finished the last stage of my return to running program, running 30 minutes with no breaks.

20140505-200047.jpg

I made an interval workout on my new Garmin in an effort to keep my pace more conservative than I have been running. I planned to run the first 10 minutes at 9:45-10:15 minute pace, the next 10 at 9:15-9:45, and the last 10 at 8:45-9:15. Staying in these ranges was a lot harder than I thought it would be. Once I got out of my pace range my Garmin beeped at me and I overcompensated and ended up way too fast or slow. When I finally evened my pace out I’d be like 4 seconds out of the range and my Garmin would beep at me every 15 seconds or so. I’m lucky the battery didn’t die.

20140505-200419.jpg

I felt pretty good, despite this weather.

20140505-200450.jpg

Spring? Hello?

When I finished my running this guy was there to congratulate me.

20140505-201511.jpg
Birds that look like that have been all around me lately. There was one in my yard hanging out six feet from me as I did yard work on Saturday.

My muscles still aren’t used to running and feel kind of awkward when moving. I have all over muscle soreness now. That said, I didn’t notice any pain in my stress fracture site either during the run or after, even when foam rolling it. I felt soreness off and on all week so I was wondering what was going on, but even now when I press on my leg I don’t feel pain so I think everything is fine. We’ll see how the next days go. More rest may be in order, then some to be determined running routine.

Yay! A new running routine! Leonard is very happy for me.

20140505-202049.jpg

One response to “Return to Running – Complete!

  1. Nice!

Leave a Reply

