I Ran for 30 Minutes!

I completed Return to Running Stage 19 last night, running for 30 minutes! I haven’t done that since last November and was reminded that running is hard.

20140424-121502.jpg
I was pleased to see I kept the exact pace of my last race, my PR half marathon last October.
Also, I got a new toy! After about a year of researching and delaying gratification I finally got a Garmin, the Forerunner 220 with heart rate monitor. I used it for the first time last night and also used my Nike+ app to see how they compare.

Nike+:

20140424-121743.jpg
Garmin:

20140424-121749.jpg
Pretty similar for distance, but the Nike+ app was a bit generous as far as calories burned goes. My main complaints with the Nike+ app are it drains my phone battery and stops itself when I take photos, so I’m glad to have the Garmin to track my run and my phone just for photos and music.

The Garmin also has a phone app I downloaded. Once you pair the watch to the app all the data from your run automatically uploads to the app and you can see all sorts of data. Obviously, as an accountant and a perfectionist inclined to analyze everything, I love this.

20140424-122602.jpg

20140424-122612.jpg

20140424-122621.jpg

20140424-122629.jpg

I have no idea what to do with the data about my cadence, but I’m excited to have it.

The jump in my heart rate corresponds to the jump in elevation when I ran up Art Hill.

20140424-123501.jpg

I’d like to use my heart rate as a guide to make sure some of my runs are easy, but I need to learn more about my own heart rate to be able to do that. I’m going to try to remember to get my resting heart rate tomorrow morning and sprint during one of my runs to figure out my max heart rate, and then do some research to figure out target heart rates for different types of runs. My goal is to take the subjectivity out of running–I think I’m pretty bad at trying to run “easy”; I always want to do my best. But I know I need to make sure I’m not always running my fastest in order to stay healthy. Thanks for this lesson, stress fracture.

I’m very sore today. My quads are not used to this. During my run a spot above my right heel was sore, which is new, but I’m not feeling it today. My injury spot (above the ankle on the left side of my right leg) hasn’t been bothering me though; I just notice occasional soreness, consistent with my healing recently. I’ll take a day or three off and then get back at it.

7 responses to “I Ran for 30 Minutes!

  1. Good job, Nora! It must feel great to be back at running, now that the frozen tundra has melted and the weather is on the up. I have the same issue with my running app where it shuts down my GPS after I snap a picture. It sometimes kills the music,too. I have a Garmin Forerunner, as well, and you’ve reminded me that I need to start using it more often.
    Also, here’s an easy way to calculate your VO2 Max and max heart rate:
    http://www.wikihow.com/Calculate-Your-Target-Heart-Rate

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Its awesome that you were able to keep your pace after not running since November! Just shows you what good training can do. 🙂

  3. Yay, way to go! Interesting to compare the two devices. I have the Nike+ watch. It works great, except on trails. It always seems to lose the signal amongst the trees and will say I was running waayy slower and several miles shorter than we actually did. My friends with Garmins don’t seem to have that issue.

    • Thanks! I had a couple instances where I thought my Nike+ was recording and later realized it wasn’t. That really bugged me so hopefully I avoid that problem with the Garmin.

  4. Yay to being back to running! And thanks for the run-down on the Garmin. I’ve been thinking about breaking down and getting a GPS watch as I only use an app on my phone right now (which has made timing with the last few stages a bit difficult as I wear the phone on my upper arm).
    Congrats again and take it easy!

Leave a Reply

