Saturday Morning Motivaton

I woke up around 7:30am this morning, fully prepared to settle in to a morning of coffee drinking and Candy Crush playing until our lunch plans. And then I saw this.

20140329-101632.jpg
Two of my overachieving friends, done with a swim before I was barely awake. But credit where credit is due, that picture made me get to the gym and complete Return to Running stage 11–2 minutes walking, 3 minutes jogging; total 30 minutes.

20140329-101910.jpg
I felt great again, and even sprinted at the end, up to 8.5 on the treadmill at the very end, which I think is 7:00 miles. Plus being on the treadmill gave me a chance to make progress on my book, “I Am Not Myself These Days”. Early 35 pages in review–hilarious (and dark).

Then I went upstairs and did 5 minutes of planking.

20140329-102259.jpg
I did 2 minutes, stretched, 1.5 more minutes, stretched, then 1.5 minutes. It felt uncomfortable today but in the next few days I’ll barely be able to move.

The stretching was good for my abs and my legs but it gave me an easy way to document the lady talking on her cell phone (!!!) as she did ab exercises next to me.

20140329-102521.jpg

20140329-102535.jpg

Does she not know this was #1 on my list of Top 10 Gym Annoyances?

Eh, who am I to judge. I’ve composed this entire post on the elliptical. (At least blogging is quiet!)

Happy Saturday!

9 responses to “Saturday Morning Motivaton

  1. I haaaate that. I always leave my phone in the locker.

  2. Good for you–spending more time jogging than walking! I was able to progress to 2 min run/3 min walk today. So far, so good!
    Ugh, cannot stand it when people talk on their cells at the gym (even though it’s strictly prohibited). I always want to go over to those people and say something like, “You know, if you weren’t talking, you’d be done by now! Plus, you’re obnoxious!”

    • Great job to you as well….2 minutes is progress and wonderful, especially now that I know what 0 minutes feels like!
      I thought the same thing about the lady. If she pushed herself harder she wouldn’t be able to talk but she’d be done much faster.

  3. I have such a cell phone pet peeve in the gym or otherwise, people become wrapped up in their conversations and lose their awareness of everyone around them. I don’t think writing while being on an elliptical is even in the same category as talking on the phone-it’s quiet and you are using your mind being creative not a nuisance. That’s just my 2 cents 🙂

  4. Were you reading while on the treadmill? That’s skill! If I tried something like that I would be reading and re-reading the same sentence over and over again.

    • Actually, I do tend to reread sentences as I run on the treadmill. I can make the text bigger, which helps, but I am still bouncing around.

  5. What really annoys me, and I find exceptionally strange, is when the girl/woman in the bathroom stall next to me is talking on her cell! (First, I think she’s talking to me!) 🙂
    Keep up the good work, Nora! I’m impressed.

Leave a Reply

