Lasagna – A Hybrid of Classic & Spinach

I made lasagna tonight. I wanted to make spinach lasagna but Tracy is more of a fan of meat based lasagnas so I decided to compromise and combine two recipes I found:

Classic Lasagna

and

Simple Spinach Lasagna

I made the cheese mixture from the spinach lasagna recipe (ricotta, spinach, Parmesan, egg, garlic powder, salt) plus added oregano like the classic lasagna recipe called for. I also mixed some of the spinach with marinara, as described in the spinach lasagna recipe.

20140217-212044.jpg

I made the meat sauce from the classic lasagna recipe, but used a little less than a pound since spinach would be taking up some of the room in the lasagna. I was happy to include onion, as I was skeptical the spinach lasagna recipe would have enough flavor since it does not mention onion.

20140217-212241.jpg

Once all the parts were ready, I assembled the lasagna, starting with the marinara/spinach mixture. I questioned the logic of using spinach as a bottom layer but it held together just fine.

20140217-212337.jpg

From this point I followed the classic lasagna recipe, as I really liked how she lists the layers in a clear visual format at the end of the recipe.

20140217-212619.jpg

I even purchased “good” mozzarella that I got sliced at the deli counter. Before making this I didn’t realize it melts better than pre-shredded mozzarella.

20140217-212810.jpg

Then I put it in the oven for 35 minutes covered in foil, and 20 uncovered.

20140217-212911.jpg

It was so good. I have to say, the meat added a dimension of flavor that really complimented the spinach well. Plus, it wasn’t so much meat that I was grossed out.

20140217-213019.jpg

The best part is it made two dinners, five lunches, and at least four more dinners to be enjoyed later (once removed from the freezer).

4 responses to “Lasagna – A Hybrid of Classic & Spinach

  1. Looks good! Garfield would approve!

  2. Sounds delicious! I’ve never thought of doing slices of cheese instead of grated/shredded.

Leave a Reply

