Hello Again

I’ve had some people mention to me recently that they miss reading my blog. While it may or may not be the case that 50% of these people are my mother (hi mom!), I thought I’d try to get back into it.

Still not running; still ok with that. I think the brutal cold irritates my stress fracture more than milder weather. Another side effect of this weather–my cat keeps tricking me into naps.

20140128-192915.jpg
I hope he had enough room.

When I’m not being tranquilized by my cat I’ve been doing other indoor activities, especially ones that use the oven. I made this Banana Bread recipe and it turned out pretty well.

20140128-193447.jpg
I even went rogue and added pineapple to the batter, in keeping with my New Year’s Resolution to not be so tied to following recipes. Pretty tasty!

I’m still going to the gym 2-3 times per week. I’m starting to mix in fast walking with other types of cardio. My leg is doing well with 10 or so minutes of walking at a time. Plus I get the opportunity to feed my competitive side as I focus on how many people I can pass on the indoor track. Many of these people are elderly or think jeans are an appropriate thing to wear for exercise at a gym, to give you an idea of where the passing people bar is set. But that doesn’t stop me from loving every minute of it–I told you, I’m competitive.

20140128-194538.jpg
Spoiler–I caught them!

I am loving not being tied to a strict half marathon schedule that requires me to be at the gym most nights. Tonight I went to the grocery store instead and used this adorable tiny cart that made me feel like a giant!

20140128-195308.jpg
I’ll leave you with that image. I hope you enjoy evaluating the contents of my cart. That’s what I do every time I see a photo of someone’s cart or fridge. It’s fun!

7 responses to “Hello Again

  1. Thanks for writing again!! Banana bread looks delicious. I couldn’t see the items in the cart well, so couldn’t evaluate those! Keep moving!

  2. Ha! I’m more interested in the name Schnucks – is that the name of the cart or the store?

    • Haha! It’s a grocery chain that’s big in the Midwest–mostly St. Louis and some parts of Illinois. Out of towners always think the name of the store is strange. My friend Melanie’s dad calls it Schmuck’s.

  3. Like Lynne said, we can’t really see what’s in your cart! Maybe pizza crust, soy milk and bagels? That banana bread does look tasty! 🙂

    • I’ll have to stage my photo better next time! 🙂 I purchased: two Indian meals, mozzarella cheese, parmesan cheese, two pizza crusts, about 10 cups of chicken broth, about 6 cups of beef broth, a 2 pack of cream cheese, whole wheat bagels, sunflower seeds, 2 bags of wild rice, 2 cans of artichoke hearts, a bag of bacon bits, rubbed sage, a bag of frozen spinach, a cucumber, and celery. I already have a lot of produce and some frozen chicken at home so this stuff will compliment all that. I have some dip and crock pot recipes I will use some of these ingredients for.

  4. Glad to hear you’re slowly on the mend! That track looks like mine! At least, the people on the track do. At least they’re moving, I tell myself. The best thing is passing someone walking while they’re jogging! I’m not competitive either. 😉

    • Oooh…I’d love to pass a jogger while walking. I’ll be in the lookout for that opportunity! Most people who use the track are walkers so finding a jogger I can pass will be a good challenge.

Leave a Reply

