Thanksgiving at The Restaurant at the Cheshire

My family doesn’t cook for Thanksgiving. Instead, we go out to eat. We normally choose a place with a buffet but this year we went to the newly renovated Restaurant at The Cheshire.

20131128-192857.jpg

20131128-192935.jpg

20131128-193124.jpg

The outside reminds me of an old building you’d see in Europe. The inside looks really modern and artistic.

Wall of wine bottles in the first dining area.

20131128-193226.jpg

We were in the second dining area, next to the kitchen. The dining room behind my aunt and I had what appeared to be plastic pieces draped from the ceiling, adding visual interest.

20131128-193303.jpg

The wall o’ wine in the distance behind my mom.

20131128-193322.jpg

As I said, we normally choose a restaurant with a buffet. We have some eaters in my family, myself included. There was some concern that the only Thanksgiving options at The Restaurant at the Cheshire were 3-course meals–$25 for turkey and $30 for beef. (Will three courses be enough? With a buffet we can have thirty courses!) So we were all pleasantly surprised when our server brought out two complimentary appetizers.

I don’t remember how the server described the appetizers but glancing at the menu online it appears we had:

Ahi Tuna, Thin and Raw – Citrus, Carrot Soy Glaze, Fresno Chiles, Cilantro (normally $15)
20131128-193454.jpg
This sauce was delicious–I could have eaten it as a snack.

House Smoked Salmon – Dill Citrus Mascarpone, Capers, Crostini (normally $14)
20131128-193523.jpg
This was also very good. I love anything with capers and all the flavors together were really tasty.

We had the following options for the first course:

Butter Lettuce – Buttermilk Herb Dressing and Maytag Blue Cheese ($10 on their regular menu, but that version includes parmesan and bacon)
20131128-193615.jpg

Autumn Greens with Candied Walnuts, Sun-dried Cranberries and Baetje Farms Goat Cheese ($9 on their regular menu)
20131128-193646.jpg

Butternut Squash Soup with Maple Cinnamon Crème Fraiche (I don’t see this on their regular menu but a similar soup is $8)
20131128-193717.jpg

I hate goat cheese with every fiber of my being and butternut squash soup does little for me, so I chose the Butter Lettuce. I ate the entire thing despite my aversion to blue cheese, that’s how much I enjoyed it. (Also, I was starving.) The other starters got good reviews from my table.

Next, the main course, a choice of turkey or beef, neither of which are listed on their regular menu.

Six of the people at my table got the turkey, which ended up being a little bit of everything you’d expect to eat on Thanksgiving. I was the one person at our table that got the beef. I eat turkey, but again, it doesn’t do much for me, and I’d just eaten a turkey sandwich on Monday. God forbid I eat turkey twice in one week. This turkey looked a lot better than my sandwich.

Roasted Turkey with Whipped Potatoes, Roasted Sweet Potatoes, Cranberry Sauce, Herb Stuffing, and Rosemary Gravy
20131128-193746.jpg

The beef basically made all my dreams come true. It had a nice peppery crust on the outside.

Roasted Rib of Beef with Whipped Potatoes and Herb Jus
20131128-193808.jpg

Last, dessert.

Warm Apple Crisp with Vanilla Ice Cream ($8 on the regular menu)
20131128-193838.jpg

Pumpkin Pie with Honey Ginger Cream (not on the regular menu)
20131128-193910.jpg

I got the apple crisp. I like crisps as much as I dislike pumpkin, so the choice was easy for me. At least this pumpkin dessert was traditional; the recent trend of cramming pumpkin into perfectly decent food/drink makes me nuts. The crisp was great but I’d reached my limit and couldn’t finish it all.

My family, just before we were wheeled out on dollies because we ate so much. Turns out you don’t need to visit a buffet to overeat!
20131128-193929.jpg

5 responses to “Thanksgiving at The Restaurant at the Cheshire

  1. Looks good…and swanky!

  2. I didn’t realize you did this! That was awesome! So down to earth, unlike most food writers.

    • Thanks! The majority of my blog is about running but I have a stress fracture that won’t be healed until Christmas so I’m blogging about other things in the meantime.

  3. YUM, Nora! Love the descriptions & pictures. I think your roast beef looks the best!!! Sorry about your fracture – take good care of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

