Dark Chocolate Cranberry Orange Muffins

I made the best muffins tonight.

20131117-191914.jpg

I got a bag of cranberries from our produce co-op Wednesday. I wasn’t sure what to do with them but knew I needed to act quickly or I’d likely be throwing them away four weeks from now. Pinterest to the rescue!

Dark Chocolate Cranberry Orange Muffins

I doubled the recipe because this seemed like a lot of work (mixing ingredients up and stirring, so much effort!) for just four muffins.

20131117-192332.jpg
And I used slightly more dark chocolate than the recipe called for because dark chocolate is delicious.

I always have trouble with recipes that say you should combine ingredients but not over mix. How much is too much? The butter didn’t seem to be combining enough so I kept stirring and resorted to using my hands to break it down further without stirring the rest too much. Finally I decided the butter would melt anyway so I just tried to distribute the chunks evenly in each muffin tin and stuck them in the oven for 20 minutes.

20131117-192645.jpg
I don’t know how to bake using muffin tins and not make a gigantic mess. And I’d wiped down the sides before sticking it in the oven!

The mess was worth it because the muffins turned out perfectly. Apparently I did just the right amount of mixing.

20131117-192942.jpg

3 responses to “Dark Chocolate Cranberry Orange Muffins

  1. Yum, I will eat anything with dark chocolate!

Leave a Reply

