Italian Meatloaf & Garlic Mashed Red Potatoes

I’ve been a vegetarian a few times in my life; the rest of the time I’m just a really picky meat eater. I still go through phases where meat disgusts me but occasionally I completely change course and crave something super meaty.

Tonight it was Italian Meatloaf.

With a small kitchen things can get cramped quickly but I made it work. The Angry Orchard Apple Ginger Hard Cider was my (delicious) sous chef.

20131101-201028.jpg

Puréed carrot. I love recipes where you can pack extra vegetables into them without making it taste like a salad.

20131101-201255.jpg

This probably isn’t a normal meatloaf pan, but it worked.

20131101-201354.jpg

The recipe called for turkey bacon on top. I’ll eat turkey bacon but I don’t think it tastes nearly as good as regular bacon. Since the loaf was made of low fat turkey, I figured the calories saved there justified regular bacon on top.

20131101-201440.jpg

Fifty minutes later:

20131101-201657.jpg

Meatloaf isn’t the the most photogenic food, but it sure is tasty.

20131101-201730.jpg

I served it with Garlic Mashed Red Potatoes.

You may notice in the photo that the potatoes have some texture issues; they’re thin and gluey. This is probably due in part to the fact I used my immersion blender on them.

20131101-202246.jpg

But I did some googling and it turns out the gluey consistency may be due to the fact that I added the butter and milk at the same time. That’s what the recipe said to do but I may have had better results had I added the butter, thoroughly mixed, then added the warm milk. And I accidentally added the cheese at the same time too; that was supposed to be last. Oops.

20131101-202725.jpg

Oh well, lesson learned. They still tasted good.

The whole meal was incredibly filling and is currently coating my stomach like a warm blanket. Comfort food at its best.

4 responses to “Italian Meatloaf & Garlic Mashed Red Potatoes

  1. Looks awesome! I might have to try that soon. Thanks for the post

  2. Looks delicious! BTW- we have the exact same refrigerator and almost the exact same kitchen layout! I love the Angry Orchard touch in the photos.

Leave a Reply

