Half Marathon Training – Week 12

Last week of training! There were a few short runs scheduled during the week of taper but I wasn’t worried about completing them all; I was trusting my training from the 11 weeks before this one. My main priorities were rest and nutrition. Every night before Saturday I slept 7.5-9 hours. This is the best week of sleep I’ve had in years. I made sure to eat my normal variety of protein, fruits, and vegetables, but added in extra carbs where I could (the entire week, not just the night before). For example, an extra slice of bread on my sandwich at lunch.

IMG_2017

Monday
I’d completed my last long run the day before so I skipped Monday’s run. Instead of running after work, I drew myself a bath.

IMG_2018

This was the first of two baths I took this week. They were good for my legs and my mind. So relaxing.

Scheduled mileage: 2 miles
Actual mileage: 0 miles

Wednesday

This was the only run I did during the week. I chose Wednesday because of all the recovery time before and after it. This was a pace run so I set the treadmill to 6.7 and let it run until I hit three miles. My breathing felt good but I felt my shin/leg with every step. Pressure, not pain, but still I was wondering how that would play out in my long race. What if I have a stress fracture and I’m making it worse and my bone breaks and pops out of my leg during the race and I have to be carried out on a stretcher? This is an actual thought I had. Back to reality, I did notice the pain lessened after 2.60 miles which gave me hope that once my body warmed up on race day I would feel more comfortable and all bones would stay in my leg.

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 3.01 miles in 27:01 minutes, an 8:58 pace

Song from my Run: “Goodbye Stranger”, Supertramp

Thursday
Scheduled mileage: 2 miles
Actual mileage: 0 miles

More rest/icing/foam rolling.

Friday and Saturday were more of the same. I don’t think I’ve taken such good care of myself in years and it felt awesome. Saturday we went to brunch at First Watch and I continued my carbing up with this, my favorite thing there:

IMG_2032

It’s a skillet that has potatoes, tomatoes, bacon, cheese, avocado, and is topped with eggs. I also douse it in hot sauce. I considered not doing that since it was the day before my race and I didn’t want any intestinal surprises, but I figured it was early enough in the day and I couldn’t resist. I ate everything, then had two chocolate chip cookies at Treats Unleashed next door (every Saturday they have cookies “for our human friends”). That night I had a caesar salad and most of a spinach and mushroom calzone. I didn’t stuff myself because I didn’t want to be too full in the morning.

Sunday

Race day!! Three months of training all come down to this. If I didn’t reach my goal I’d have to wait 6 months for another shot at it. No pressure or anything! I posted my full recap yesterday so I won’t go into many more details here.

Scheduled mileage: 13 miles
Actual mileage: 13.1 miles in 1:59:37, a 9:08 pace (my chip time, more accurate than this app).

IMG_2055

Song from my run: “Cup of Life”, Ricky Martin. Thanks Ricky, Yes, I really wanted it.

IMG_2054

So that’s it! Another cycle of half marathon training complete. There’s a Thanksgiving 5k and an ugly sweater 5k I have my eye on but as of right now my next scheduled races aren’t until 2014, part of this season pass:

http://gostlouis.org/go-st-louis-introduces-2014-season-pass-promotion/

I’m going to take it easy most of this week. l woke up very sore and very stiff. I’m going to give my leg the rest it deserves since it’s hurting again; the pain-free race was truly miraculous.

Next week I’ll get back to an exercise routine with some running but also my Zumba and PiYo classes which I’ve had to abandon lately to focus on running. I’m looking forward to some variety!

4 responses to “Half Marathon Training – Week 12

  1. Awesome time! I was thinking of you while I was running the LA Rock ’n Roll on Sunday. Congratulations!

    • I don’t think I realized your race was a Rock n Roll. That’s cool that we had RnRs on the same day! I did remember you’d be racing when I was done, though. Hope your race went well!

  2. I love the ending–the one in real life, and the one on the blog!

Leave a Reply

