Half Marathon Training – Week 10

Monday
Another day off (I could get used to not working on Mondays!). I ran in the afternoon and it was sunny and pleasant. I thought it might be a tough run since I’d just run 12 miles the day before but it actually ended up being great. Running’s like a box of chocolates.

Speedy final mile; my favorite.

IMG_1874

Scheduled mileage: 5 miles
Actual mileage: 5.15 miles in 46:02 minutes, an 8:56 pace

IMG_1873

Song from my run: “Within”, Daft Punk. I set my music to shuffle and this was one of the songs. It’s mellow but pretty and it was a relaxing ending to my run.

IMG_1876

Tuesday

Another attempt at speedwork on the treadmill. This time I alternated between realistic paces–8:00 for the intervals and 9:00 for the recoveries. I did a 10:00 pace 5 minute warmup and stopped the intervals soon after I passed 3 miles. This was a success–didn’t have to bail out on any of the intervals.

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 3.20 miles in 28:03 minutes, an 8:45 pace

Song from my run: “Flo”, Smashmouth. What happened to them?

IMG_1931

Thursday

I ran in Tower Grove Park for this one. I don’t know what is going on in that park but there are tiny bugs flying all over, especially by the water. I inhaled the bugs through my mouth, nose, and eyes. I could feel them landing on my face and saw them on my nose. I tried swatting them away but it was taking too much energy to do that so I just gave in and let them have their way with me.

IMG_1882

That’s not a freckle, that’s a bug setting up shop under my eye. This wasn’t even the worst of it; when I took my shower I discovered about 8 of this guy’s relatives. RIP.

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 3.29 miles in 30:01 minutes, a 9:07 pace

IMG_1878

I had to stop at Kingshighway and Arsenal to stretch–my calves and shins were tight. I’m telling myself they’re just getting super strong and each run I complete helps to strengthen them a little more. Foam rolling and icing makes them not hurt later.

Song from my run: “No Myth”, Michael Penn. Aimee Mann’s husband is pretty great in his own right.

IMG_1880

Sunday
The Great GO! St. Louis Halloween 10k. My Nike+ app stopped every time I took a picture (a lot of times), so the overall miles and distance aren’t accurate but it was helpful as a gauge of how fast I was running each mile.

IMG_1917

I think mile 6 was actually my fastest but my app refuses to acknowledge I ran that far.

Scheduled mileage: 6.2 miles
Actual mileage: 6.2 miles in 53:33, an 8:38 pace. 🙂

IMG_1916

The gaps are where the app stopped recording but you get the general idea of the course. It was a good one. Hilly, of course, but different from other downtown races I’ve been in–started west rather than east, went by the river, finished in a different spot than other races.

Song from my run: “Hey Jealousy”, Gin Blossoms.

IMG_1918

3 responses to “Half Marathon Training – Week 10

  1. Good work on keeping up with your training. BTW- I got and tried those socks you mentioned in a previous post. I used them on my 10 mile run. The jury is still out on these. I like them but what I might not like about them is they feel like cotton. They’re cozy for regular wear,though! 🙂

    • I kind of like that they feel like cotton. A lot of running socks I’ve seen/tried are too thin for my liking. These feel more cushy and cozy, as you said. But maybe you’d like a thin pair of socks better. I’ve tried a bunch of running stuff in order to figure out what I like and don’t like. It’s amazing how clothes that are fine for a short run can annoy/chafe you on a long run!

  2. Great job on your 10K running twin! I can’t wait to hear about you running a sub 2 hr half marathon. The way your training you will kick that goals butt. As for the bugs by the water. I know exactly what you mean. I run on a river trail by my house occasionally and the gnats are really bad especially later in the afternoon/evening. One day i don’t doubt that i had a few hundred all over me. Now if i run on the trail i do mornings.

Leave a Reply

