Pre-Race Jitters

I’m running in The Great Go! St. Louis Halloween race tomorrow. I’m using this as a training run for my half marathon (in a little over two weeks–eek!) so I picked the 10k option rather than the 5k or half marathon. I’ve run a bunch of races this year but I’m still experiencing the pre-race jitters that come from the self induced pressure to run every race better than my last.

That said, I don’t have any major goals for this race. I’ve only run a 10k once before; the U City Memorial Day 10k earlier this year. I finished that race in 55:29 so I figure breaking 55 minutes is a reasonable goal. I’m hoping to pace by how I feel but I’m also hoping I feel like running faster than my half marathon goal pace of 9:00 miles. 🙂

The good news is I feel really rested. I’ve spent the past couple days eating pizza (nothing like carbing up for a 6.2 mile race), hydrating, and watching my Cardinals.

20131012-205147.jpg
This guy agrees rest is important.

I’ve also foam rolled, iced, and haven’t run since Thursday, so my legs should be ready to crank out some miles. I’m trying to remind myself I’m running because I want to, not because I have to, and to enjoy the experience. A lot of people dress up for this race (not me) so there will be built in entertainment. I’m looking forward to some good photo ops. Ideally I’ll also walk away with a new 10k PR, but if not, I’ll just remember this is training for the Rock ‘n Roll half and focus my energy on that.

2 responses to “Pre-Race Jitters

  1. Have a fun race! I can’t wait to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

