Half Marathon Training – Week 7

Monday

I had a strange tight feeling in my left shin muscle, different than a splint feeling. I decided to skip the additional mile I normally do on this run and went home and foam rolled and iced.

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 3.17 miles in 30:01 minutes, a 9:28 pace

image

Song from my run: “Ready to Start”, Arcade Fire

image

Tuesday

Treadmill run. The top of my left foot was hurting but it didn’t affect me. I think I’m at the stage of training where I’m just going to have to deal with minor aches and pains.

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 3.20 miles in 30 minutes, a 9:22 pace

Song from my run: “New Sensation”, INXS

image

Thursday

I was not feeling this treadmill run at all. I was having issues getting my music to play and my feet were sore from blisters. I nearly skipped the workout entirely so I consider this shorter run a victory.

Scheduled mileage: 5 miles
Actual mileage: 3.17 miles in 30 minutes, a 9:27 pace

Song from my run: “Safe and Sound”, Capital Cities.

image

Saturday
Run For the Hills 5k.

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 3.10 miles in 25:36, an 8:15 pace

Song from my run: “Good Vibrations”, Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch. One of my all time favorite songs. 🙂

20130922-130452.jpg

Sunday
Long run day at Grant’s Trail. This was the second pace run in the Big River Running Training Team series. Instead of running at a slower long run pace we’d run at the pace we want to keep during our races. For me this is 9 minute miles. My pace group choices were an 8:30-9 minute group or a 9:15-10 minute group so I figured I better go with the faster group. I was relieved to discover the other people in the group wanted to run 9 minute miles just like me. Our pace leader was Tim, a super friendly guy who led the last pace run I did. Then there were eight other guys, a woman my mom’s age, and me.

We started by running a mile to warm up, then stretch, then did the pace run. Everyone was running different mileage, anywhere from 4-13 miles, so Tim said we’d run to the four mile marker then people could head back or keep going for additional miles. I intended to run 6-8, depending on how I felt.

I felt a little bored. Grant’s Trail is pretty and peaceful but out and back routes are very draining mentally because I can’t trick myself into not thinking about how much is left; I’m automatically aware of the fact that I’m coming back on the same path, looking at the same stuff. We saw a deer at the very beginning. He was right on the trail and our pacer chased him off. I could have used a few more deer sightings to make it more interesting. Mostly it was like this, a trail I think is better used for biking than running.

20130922-132240.jpg

20130922-132000.jpg

I also felt tired and my shins felt iffy; that pressure feeling that seems like a warning that they could become a more serious injury if I don’t take care of them. So I decided I’d just do 6 miles, which actually is 7 when you consider the 1 mile warm up. I chewed a few of these starting at mile 2 or so; I needed the energy.

20130922-132729.jpg

We became a pace group of three at the 4 mile marker. As we approached mile 6 I let the two guys know I’d be walking the final 2 miles back and had no problem with that. We said our goodbyes and they continued on while I relished being able to walk. Tim was keeping a brisk pace; dipping under 9 according to my app; and it was challenging to keep up. In order to break 2 hours for my half marathon I need to average 9:09 miles; after a run like today I’m doubting myself because this felt hard and it wasn’t even half the distance I’ll race. I think it’ll likely come down to how I’m feeling the day of the race. In the meantime, I’ll get more miles in and trust the process.

Scheduled mileage: 6 miles
Actual mileage: 6.06 miles in 53 minutes, an 8:44 pace.

20130922-140754.jpg

Song from my run: “Call Me Maybe”, Carly Rae Jepsen. Still catchy.

20130922-140514.jpg

Leave a Reply

