Half Marathon Training – Week 5

Monday
We got back from Madison too late for me to go to my group run so I did this one on my own. I explored the path extension that will go from Carondelet Park under Loughborough and connect to the rest of the River Des Peres Greenway. This path isn’t finished so not only did I have to go around a barrier that clearly indicated pedestrians weren’t welcome, but when the path ended with piles of bricks and dirt, I had to climb up a hill to get back to Loughborough.

20130908-123027.jpg

Scheduled mileage: 4 miles
Actual mileage: 5.06 miles in 46 minutes, a 9:06 pace

Song from my run: “Fidelity”, Regina Spektor

20130908-122839.jpg

Tuesday
I had Tuesday off so I ran in the morning, which I love because then the rest of the day is free. (I just can’t make myself get up early enough to run before work.)

20130908-123524.jpg

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 3.43 miles in 30:01 minutes, an 8:45 pace

Song from my run: “Changes”, 2Pac

20130908-123654.jpg

Thursday
I made my first attempt at speedwork and it went well.

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 4.03 miles in 36:01 minutes, an 8:55 pace

20130908-124325.jpg

Song from my run: “King of Pain”, The Police (a little speedwork humor)

20130908-124203.jpg

Sunday
This long run was a rough one. I left my house around 6:30am to head to Big River Running’s south city store, where this week’s long run started from.

20130908-124521.jpg

It’s barely light out and there are no other humans in sight at this time.

I joined the 9:30-10 minute pace group in keeping with my plan to pace my long runs a minute slower than I’d like to race. (I still don’t get how this is supposed to work but lots of runners say this so I’m trying to trust the process.)

The route was the same 7 mile loop some people do on the Monday night group run. I’m always scared to try that, so I was excited to get to run it with a group I knew would be my pace.

I started out great. Slow, easy, and was enjoying the fact it was overcast. Not so much the humidity, but I was still feeling good through mile 3 or 4. But then we were well into the path that borders the River Des Peres. I’ve run this before but avoid it now because it’s so long and endless feeling.

20130908-125009.jpg
Blurry photo taken while running.

Unfortunately at this point I began to allow myself to consider the possibility of walking. I was counting on being stopped by traffic lights in order to drink my Gatorade but because we were on this path we went a long time without stopping. My one attempt at running and drinking out of a bottle did not go well, which is when I thought maybe I’d walk and drink. I was able to postpone walking until almost mile 6, so that’s something, but the last two miles turned into a run/walk combo. My horrid experience of walking in the Go half marathon flashed before my eyes. I just really don’t like walking–it feels like giving up.

Around mile 6.5 the last of my pace group passed me, but our pacer Megan was nice enough to stop and walk with me. (Runners are some of the nicest people.) After we reached the top of the hill on Eichelberger I was able to run again and ran with Megan back to BRR. Megan was done after 7 miles but I continued for my last 1. Like she said, the last mile doesn’t really make or break the training, so I could have stopped, but again that would have felt like quitting, so I toughed it out.

When I got back to the store it began raining much harder, with lightning, so I finished at a perfect time. It’s possible the other runners had to turn back. One girl in my group planned to run 16-18 miles today. I can’t imagine.

Scheduled mileage: 8 miles
Actual mileage: 8.01 miles in 1:21:36, a 10:11 pace (not too far off from my 9:30-10 pace group!)

Song from my run: “I’m Only Happy When it Rains”, Garbage. Sometimes it feels like the universe is communicating with me through my music. I ignored it when “Stop” by The Spice Girls played much earlier in my run. 🙂

20130908-130117.jpg

Now I’m relaxing and making Italian Beef and salsas using the tomatillos I got from our co-op. I’ll post the recipes tomorrow.

2 responses to “Half Marathon Training – Week 5

  1. You’re doing so good. Don’t beat yourself up. Like the pacer said, a lot of people had issues with the weather. You got this!!!!!!!

  2. I love the way you post the music you ran with.

Leave a Reply

