Half Marathon Training – Week 4

Monday
South city group run.

20130831-193447.jpg

Scheduled mileage: 4 miles
Actual mileage: 4.18 miles in 39:15, a 9:23 pace

Song from my run: “Stand Back”, Stevie Nicks

Tuesday
Treadmill run.

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 3.54 miles in 33:02, a 9:18 pace

Song from my run: “Raise Your Glass”, P!nk. Love her and her strong but feminine energy. Can’t wait to see her perform live later this year.

20130831-194106.jpg

Thursday
Since we’re out of town this weekend I moved my long run to Thursday. Unfortunately it was over 100 degrees outside so I had to nix my Forest Park running plan and instead run 7 miles on the treadmill. 😦 I haven’t run that far on a treadmill since I did 8 miles a couple years ago. It’s not pleasant. I decided to read a book to pass the time. That was somewhat helpful although it was a bit tricky to read while moving. The good thing is I tend to fall asleep when reading and there was no chance of that happening on the treadmill so I was able to read a lot of pages.
Even though I was inside I still got really hot and sweated a lot. I took a couple walking breaks to drink some water. I normally prefer to run straight through but I decided running this long on a treadmill was so boring I deserved the breaks.

Scheduled mileage: 7 miles
Actual mileage: 7.22 miles in 1:10:00, a 9:41 pace

Song from my run: “Where Did You Go?”, The Mighty Mighty Bosstones. I was really into these guys sometime around sophomore year of college.

20130831-223931.jpg

Saturday
Another reason for moving my long run was the 5k I ran Saturday, the Color Me Rad 5k. This was a really casual race, barely a running event. Lots of walkers and the runners all walked through the color stations. We did run most of it but I’ve got no idea on time since it wasn’t a timed event. It was nice to run with no idea how fast I was going and therefore no additional pressure.

Scheduled mileage: 3 miles
Actual mileage: 3.1 miles, no idea about time or pace

Leave a Reply

